CRI announces winners of 2011 Coley Award for distinguished research in tumor immunology

July 23, 2017

The Coley Award is one of the highest honors bestowed to scientists in recognition of seminal discoveries in immunology and tumor immunology research. Since CRI established the Coley Award in 1975, it has been presented to 81 outstanding scientists, many of whom have gone on to win prestigious awards including the Gairdner Prize, National Medal of Science, Lasker Award, and Nobel Prize. As such, many consider the Coley Award both as a marker for the most important scientific developments in the history of cancer immunotherapy and as a predictor of future impact of these discoveries on human health.

"In receiving the Coley Award, Drs. Greenberg and Rosenberg join a distinguished group of researchers whose work not only has deepened our understanding of the immune system and its response to cancer, but has also, collectively, helped to lay the essential scientific foundation for the now rapidly growing field of cancer immunotherapy," says Lloyd J. Old, M.D., director of the CRI Scientific Advisory Council.

Drs. Greenberg and Rosenberg will receive their awards at CRI's 25th Annual Awards Dinner to be held the evening of October 3 at 583 Park Avenue in New York City. Also presented at the Dinner will be the 2011 Frederick W. Alt Award for New Discoveries in Immunology to Stephen C. Jameson, Ph.D., a former CRI postdoctoral fellowship recipient whose work has shed important light on the mechanisms of T cell activation and differentiation, and the 2011 Oliver R. Grace Award for Distinguished Service in Advancing Cancer Research to Mitchell H. Gold, M.D., president and CEO of Dendreon Corporation, and to celebrated film and television producer Laura Ziskin, who will receive the award posthumously. 2011 marks the first year that all three awards will be presented at the same event.

Source: Cancer Research Institute